Skip to schedule

Talis Insight Asia-Pacific 2021

18th-22nd January

To join the sessions, click here

After the event, we'll be posting some of the session recordings below.

Webinars

Talis Keynote

Monday 18th January
AWST 09:00
AEDT 12:00
NZDT 14:00

Alison Spencer, CEO, Talis

Who's reading what and why it matters

Tuesday 19th January
AWST 09:00
AEDT 12:00
NZDT 14:00

Fiona Salisbury, University Librarian, La Trobe University

Understanding the relationship between reading behaviour, access to digital resources and student engagement is critical for libraries wanting to play a key role in improving the student experience.

This session shares strategic drivers and reflections on a library initiative to capture, visualise and analyse data from library and institutional systems to inform new practice and contribute to student success.

Data analysis to support strategic decision making in Talis Aspire

Tuesday 19th January
AWST 10:00
AEDT 13:00
NZDT 15:00

Tim Hodson, Consulting Manager, Talis

Data in Talis Aspire Advanced MIS can give you deeper insight into how people are using reading lists and digitisations. We'll use real examples of what people are building based on Talis Aspire data, illustrating the main use cases for investing in data analysis to support decision making in the University.

Discussion sessions

Discussion sessions hosted by our Talis Aspire User Group representatives, Samantha Baxter, Liaison Librarian at James Cook University and Steve Donaldson, Library Systems Manager at the University of Waikato.

Please visit our Miro discussion board to follow the discussion and contribute as it happens.

What has changed since COVID-19?

AWST 09:00
AEDT 12:00
NZDT 14:00

Discussing what you are doing differently today in light of the acceleration towards digital.

Shifting your world online

AWST 09:30
AEDT 12:30
NZDT 14:30

Discussing moving to digital tools for training sessions, onboarding of Talis Aspire, and conferences.

Open discussion

AWST 10:00
AEDT 13:00
NZDT 15:00

Please prepare talking points or questions, or add them to the Miro board.

Webinars

The role of the library in the acceleration of digital Teaching & Learning

Thursday 21st January
AWST 09:00
AEDT 12:00
NZDT 14:00

A fireside chat with Dr. Emily McIntosh, Director of Learning, Teaching and Student Experience at Middlesex University London and Ian Snowley, Dean of Student Learning Development and University Librarian at the University of Lincoln.

Opportunities like these do not often present themselves and sharing tools, platforms and expertise with librarians, curators, historians, and cultural institutions across the state is an exciting endeavour.

Using Talis Aspire data at Murdoch University

Thursday 21st January
AWST 10:00
AEDT 13:00
NZDT 15:00

Caris Chamberlain, Senior Librarian, Subscriptions, at Murdoch University

In this session we will explore how Murdoch University library has been using Talis Aspire Advanced MIS in Power Bi, and what they have been able to achieve this year since using them.

Print to E - a journey through lockdown and resiliency

Friday 22nd January
AWST 09:00
AEDT 12:00
NZDT 14:00

Marcus Harvey, Manager Subject Librarians, Victoria University of Wellington

The library team from Victoria University of Wellington discuss their move from print to e-resources during lockdown, and how that affected resourcing, the tools they used and their plans moving forwards.

Connecting, collaborating, and contributing to community

Friday 22nd January
AWST 09:45
AEDT 12:45
NZDT 14:45

Janette Burke, University Librarian, University of Tasmania

The University of Tasmania is the only university on the island of lutrawita/Tasmania and has a crucial role to play within community, to improve and positively impact on 6 key areas: education, health, social, economic, culture and sustainability. Opportunities like these do not often present themselves and sharing tools, platforms and expertise with librarians, curators, historians, and cultural institutions across the state is an exciting endeavour.

To see more webinars from the Talis team and our community of users, check out talis.com/events